The Johnson County Museum was established in 1967 to collect, preserve, and interpret the history and heritage of Johnson County, Kansas.  Funded by Johnson County (KS) Government, and operated and managed by the Johnson County Park and Recreation District, the museum operates the main museum, the 1950s All-Electric House, and the Lanesfield Historic Site near Gardner.  The museum provides exhibits, educational programs for schools, families and Scouts, a research library, and extensive access to its collections online at www.JoCoHistory.net.  



Foundation members are elected by the Board of Directors. Board members serve 3-year terms and are eligible to serve two terms before they must rotate off the Board of Directors.

2019 Board of Directors and Officers

Lonita Cook, President

Jama Akers, Vice President

Jane Wilson, Secretary

Lauren Driessel, Treasurer

Jerry Baird

Larry Meeker

Julie Hickman

Tom McCabe

Nancy Stankiewicz

Mary Tearney

Nancy Wallerstein

If you are intersted in serving, please contact the museum at 913-826-2787 or by email. Thank you!